The Vietnamese Coffee Challenge

One of the things I have learned to enjoy since achieving my expatriate status is Vietnamese coffee.

While I haven’t had a good cup for several months now, I was reminded of how delicious and simply fulfilling their coffee is a few days ago.

My mom and I were on our way to Ho Chi Minh for the Khmer New Year, and during the regular stop at the Hono Red Restaurant and Bus Stop*, I ordered coffee so that I had enough kick in me to last the day.

Ah, coffee.

I do love their (Vietnamese) coffee. According to some fun facts I gathered, Vietnam is the second largest producer/exporter/something of coffee. That is why their coffee tastes so good. In my opinion, there is also something in their preparation of coffee that makes the experience pleasurable.

My mom said that a few years ago, Hono Red Restaurant provided coffee with the drip still on top. This caught my curiosity  and while we were going around Parkson, I pestered her into submission and we bought Vietnamese coffee with filter.

Upon arriving back at the apartment, I couldn’t wait to try out my new toys, so I made coffee for myself to start the day.

Ingredients and tools are as follows:

Phin (Vietnamese coffee filter)

Coffee

Condensed milk (yes, it looks like Alaska milk!)

Take one:

On my first try, I put condensed milk into the mug, then assembled the phin and perched it on top of the mug like so:

Then, I put in 1 tablespoon of coffee grounds on top, and then poured hot water onto the phin. I waited until the water went through, and then removed the phin.

Result: FAIL!

Why? I did it all wrong. This is what you get when you try something out without consulting YouTube first. I was a bit downhearted at first because my mixture was a complete and utter failure. I upended the mug down the drain, and that was that.

Take two:

My mom asked me if I already tried making my Vietnamese coffee. I said yes, and then she asked me where it was. Then I said it was down the drain, so she said I shouldn’t give up easily.

So I went online and looked for videos on how to prepare this damned thing.

I finally found a good video, and so I set forth to conquer the world of Vietnamese coffee.

Result: B+

Why? Well, my mom said she liked it, but it was too strong. I just had a quick sip of my coffee before my sister drank it all up. She said it gave her the PUNCH she needed. But that it was a bit too strong (I used 3 tablespoons of coffee this time).

Take three:

Result: A

Why? This time, I nailed it. I need to pull an all nighter because I have stuff to do tomorrow, so I fixed myself a nice cuppa. This time I just used 1 tablespoon of coffee, put the grounds in THEN put the sieve thingie on top of the grounds and performed the steps correctly this time.

It tastes quite good, quite good, quite good.

I hope it carries me through.

__

Mmmm… coffee. So good. I know a couple of friends who may want to try their knack at this. In fact, I am heavily considering sending them phins.

And that is all.

Cheers ma dears!

*Hono Red Restaurant is a usual stop made by the SAPACO bus when in Bavet, before you cross the border.

Leave a comment