For the love of adobong baboy

A colleague of mine does not believe that I have cooking capabilities.

Well, I do. However, my capabilities are far from perfect, and in most instances, I dare to improvise. I do love to cook, but this is but a recent interest that I’ve gained.

Call it fortunate, or call it unfortunate, but I grew up not being inclined to cook since my relatives are particular about cooking. So I gave up cooking for our family until I had my own. See, before I left my home in order to get hitched to my husband, my grandmother told me I MUST, I MUST learn how to cook my favorite dishes, especially since my husband’s family would not be cooking for us. LOL

Well, folks, one favorite dish is ADOBO (adobong baboy). I am sure if you’ve met other Filipinos, I think chances are that adobo is among their favorite dishes. I guess it is a Filipino thing? I also read somewhere that adobo is the Filipino National Dish. Whether this is true, or not, I have no idea.

Families have different styles of cooking adobo. But I think the concept is the same, it starts out with vinegar, soy sauce, and garlic.

Then there’s chicken adobo, vegetable adobo… etc. adobo. So. Yes, adobo, adobo, adobo!

A few days ago, I made adobo for the little brother, and he liked it. Well, everybody in our family loves adobo. But it is the cooking that makes it challenging.

Ingredients:

  • Chopped garlic
  • Chopped shallots
  • Vinegar
  • Soy Sauce
  • Salt
  • Pepper

*Note: Normally, I’d throw in bay leaves and pepper corns, but we were fresh out.

Directions:
Okay, not really how tos, but basically, I just toss everything together in a frying pan. Then pour a bit of water. Stew the meat until its almost dry (because I was going for the dry version), and then when it has oil left, just add some more and gird your loins for battle!!

Seriously, the thing I dislike about cooking this style of adobo is that I have to combat oil flying everywhere.

And then, when the meat has been cooked. Serve.

Combat style:

  • I’ve learned from my mom that putting a lid on the frying pan while the oil is flying everywhere will save you. And you should turn the fire low or off before attempting to approach.
  • My brother on the other hand believes in the bad-ass rider approach = he wears a jacket and a helmet when cooking!
  • My husband, does it towel ninja style. Meaning he wraps his face with a tshirt or towel, leaving his eyes clear. Everything else is covered.

And there you have it!

Normally, when served, adobo lasts less than 1 minute. So better be at the table when it comes around!

Leave a comment