Tribute to Bulad

Oh, bulad, bulad!
How yummy you are to eat;
For each single meal!

~

The term ‘bulad‘ (or ‘buwad’) is often used by Visayans, which probably gives you an idea as to which part of the Philippines I come from, to refer to salted, dried fish.

I do not have a lot of trivia about bulad, but all I know is that we eat it by the bushels. I kid, I kid! But we do eat it a lot.

If we had our way, we would be eating this for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Snacks even, if we have champorado and what not.

Unfortunately, dried fish in Cambodia just isn’t the same as the ones we have at home. So we often have to beg somebody who is going home to bring back some dried fish.

Luckily, a family friend of ours went home to Siquijor a couple weeks back. We did not have to beg her this time since she brought us some bulad anyway.

Bulad, suka, sili! Sikwate… sikwate!

Oh happy days.

Unfortunately, a bag of bulad can only last so long. The contents disappeared in less than a week. We tried to scrimp, mind you, but I guess we needed more.

🙂

Have you tried bulad yet?

Tagged:

Leave a comment